Skip to content

Payroll and expenses

ADP expense management and ADP expense reimbursement through payroll on RUN and Workforce Now

ADP runs your payroll but sells no expense module of its own. The apps on its marketplace split into two kinds: ones that write approved reimbursements onto the ADP paycheck, and ones that only read your roster and pay people some other way. Know which kind you are buying before the demo.

Try the demo

Department budget alerts on the cards you already hold, flat per month whatever your ADP headcount.

Try it on your own numbers

Set a department budget and see the day it would have warned you

An expense app tells you what was spent once a report is approved, and ADP tells you what was paid on payday. Neither tells a department head that the month is 70 percent gone by the 12th. Pick a budget and thresholds, replay a month of spend, and watch when the alert fires. Runs in your browser, nothing is uploaded.

Short answer

Does ADP have expense management?

Not as its own product. ADP covers expenses through partner apps on the ADP Marketplace. SAP Concur, TripLog and Compt write approved reimbursements into ADP payroll, so employees are repaid on the next paycheck. Ramp only reads the ADP roster and repays people itself. Pick by where you want the money to land, then by price.

What each connector actually does

ADP expense reimbursement connectors, read only or read and write

Taken from each app's own listing on apps.adp.com. Every listing is provided by the vendor, not ADP, and ADP receives a commission when you buy through the marketplace. Prices sit behind an ADP login on every one of them.

Swipe the table sideways to compare all columns.

Expense app ADP products listed Reads from ADP Writes to ADP payroll How the employee is repaid
SAP Concur Expense Workforce Now, TotalSource, and a separate app for RUN Workers, organization and managers, nightly file feed Yes. Earnings and deduction codes and amounts once a report is approved On the ADP paycheck, for out-of-pocket spend
TripLog Workforce Now, Next Generation and TotalSource Names, file number, department, earning and deduction codes, real time Yes. Earning and deduction codes and rates On the ADP paycheck, or TripLog's own ACH as a separate payment
Compt RUN and Workforce Now, separate apps Employee records Yes. Payroll data written back to ADP Through ADP payroll, plans tiered by employee count
Ramp Workforce Now and TotalSource Title, department and location, scheduled No. Listed as "Read data from ADP" By Ramp, outside the paycheck
Expensify Workforce Now and RUN, per Expensify Not stated on the listing Not stated. Ask before you buy Normally by Expensify's own ACH once approved

The difference is not cosmetic. A write connector turns an approved report into a line on the next pay stub, so the employee sees one deposit, payroll keeps one record, and your bank sees one outflow on payday. A read-only connector keeps the roster in sync, which matters for cards and approval chains, but the repayment travels as its own transfer from the expense vendor, with its own timing and its own entry in the books.

Neither is wrong. A company whose spend runs mostly on company cards barely reimburses anyone, and for it the read-only connector is the useful one because it issues and cancels cards as people join and leave. A company whose field staff drive their own cars and pay for hotels on personal cards lives on reimbursement, and for it the paycheck route saves a reconciliation every two weeks.

Three ways to run ADP expense reimbursement

Operations team walking through a purchase request workflow on a large screen during software onboarding

ADP payroll expense reimbursement, connector or by hand

1. A write connector puts it on the paycheck

Concur, TripLog or Compt sends each approved amount to ADP under an earning code. Nobody rekeys anything. The catch is the calendar: a report approved the day after the payroll cutoff waits a full cycle, up to two weeks on a biweekly schedule.

2. The expense app pays by ACH

Ramp and Expensify repay people themselves once a report is approved, usually faster than the next payroll. ADP never sees the money. Your accountant books the reimbursement from the expense app's export instead of the payroll journal.

3. A payroll admin keys it in

With no connector, someone enters each approved amount into ADP as a non-taxable reimbursement earning. It works at ten employees. At fifty it is an afternoon every payroll and the most common source of a taxable reimbursement nobody meant to tax.

Same company, every meter

What ADP travel and expense management costs a 50 person company

One company on ADP payroll, 50 employees, 30 of whom file one expense report a month. Each app is priced on its own published meter. None of these numbers includes your ADP payroll fee, which ADP quotes separately, or the connector fee, which every listing hides behind a login.

Concur bills per report, so a company that files few reports pays little and a company that files many pays a lot. Expensify bills per member on Collect and per active member on Control. Ramp's software is free on its base tier because it earns on its card, which only works if your spend moves to that card.

The cheapest line is rarely the cheapest program. If Ramp's $0 means your field staff now wait for a separate ACH and your accountant reconciles two payment streams, the paycheck route through Concur at about $2,500 a year can be the better buy. Detailed rates are on our SAP Concur pricing, Expensify pricing and Ramp pricing pages.

Yearly software cost, 30 filers

Plan Meter Monthly Yearly
Ramp Free Card-funded $0 $0
Expensify Collect $5 a member $150 $1,800
Concur Base From $7 a report $210 $2,520
Concur Plus From $11 a report $330 $3,960
Ramp Plus $15 a user, plus fee $450+ $5,400+
Expensify Control $18 an active member, annual $540 $6,480

Our arithmetic on each vendor's published entry rate. Ramp Plus adds a platform fee Ramp does not publish. TripLog and Compt show prices only to signed-in ADP clients. Excludes ADP payroll and connector fees.

Before you buy from the marketplace

Six questions that decide which ADP expense app works

01

Which ADP product is it built for?

Listings are product specific. A connector for Workforce Now does nothing for a company on RUN, and Next Generation often has its own listing.

02

Does it read only, or write?

The listing's application type says it plainly. "Read data from ADP" means reimbursements will not reach the paycheck through it.

03

When does the sync run against cutoff?

A nightly feed and a Tuesday cutoff mean Monday's approvals make this payroll and Tuesday's wait for the next one. Ask for the exact timing.

04

Which earning code is used?

Reimbursements under an accountable plan are not wages. Confirm the code in ADP is non-taxable before the first run, not after a W-2 is wrong.

05

Buy direct or through ADP?

ADP takes a commission on marketplace purchases. Ask the vendor for its direct price too, and whether the connector is included either way.

06

Who sees spend before payday?

Both routes report spend after the fact. If department heads need a warning mid-month, that is a separate job, covered below.

One piece of history explains why buyers expect ADP to have its own tool. ADP once sold ADP Expense eXpert, a private-label version of Concur Expense. Concur still has the widest set of ADP connectors on the marketplace today, with separate apps for Workforce Now, Next Generation and RUN. If you already run Concur for travel, it is the shortest path. If you do not, you are buying Concur to get a connector, and the per-report price above is the number to weigh against the convenience.

Mileage changes the answer. TripLog and Compt both started with mileage and both write to ADP, so a sales team that drives more than it flies gets IRS-rate mileage and paycheck repayment from the same app. For a company paying staff under a fixed allowance instead, our notes on the accountable plan rules cover when that allowance stays tax-free.

The gap every route leaves

Spend alerts before payday, next to any ADP expense app

Every route above is built to repay people correctly. None of them is built to warn a department head on the 12th that the month's travel budget is already 70 percent gone, because the expense app only counts a dollar once a report is submitted and approved, and ADP only counts it on payday. Card spend shows up in the bank feed days or weeks before either.

01

Budget on pace to overshoot

A department at 60 percent on the 10th, projected forward, sent to the person who owns the budget.

02

Renewal at a higher price

A subscription, including the expense app itself, that comes back above last time's amount.

03

New recurring merchant

The first charge from a vendor nobody approved, on any card, the day it posts.

Where SpendNotify fits, and where it does not

SpendNotify does not run payroll, reimburse anyone or connect to ADP, and it has no relationship with ADP or any vendor named here. It takes in the charges from the cards and bank accounts you already use (forwarded bank transaction emails, an iPhone Shortcut for Apple Pay, or a CSV, OFX or QFX statement) and alerts the budget owner by email, Slack or webhook when one of the three things above happens. Plans are flat per month, from $199, or $99 a month billed yearly, so the price does not climb with your ADP headcount. How the alerts work is on budget alerts, and the plans are on pricing.

See plans

Questions buyers ask

ADP expense management, answered

Does ADP have expense management?

Not as a product of its own today. ADP covers expense management through partner apps on the ADP Marketplace, such as SAP Concur, Expensify, Ramp, TripLog and Compt. Some of those write approved reimbursements into ADP payroll so employees are repaid on their paycheck. Others only read your ADP roster and repay employees by a separate transfer.

How do I reimburse expenses through ADP payroll?

Use an expense app whose ADP connector writes pay data back to ADP. The SAP Concur, TripLog and Compt listings all send approved amounts to ADP as earning or deduction codes, so the reimbursement lands on the next paycheck. Without a connector, a payroll admin enters each approved amount by hand as a non-taxable reimbursement earning.

Can ADP RUN do expense reimbursement?

Yes, through a connector. The ADP Marketplace has a Concur Integration with RUN Powered by ADP that sends payment information to ADP after an expense report is approved, and a Compt app for RUN that writes payroll data back to ADP. Most other expense connectors on the marketplace are built for Workforce Now, so check that the listing names your ADP product.

Does Expensify integrate with ADP?

Yes. Expensify is listed on the ADP Marketplace and describes itself as a certified partner for Workforce Now and RUN. Expensify normally repays employees itself by ACH once a report is approved, so the money arrives separately from the paycheck. Collect costs $5 per member a month and Control $18 per active member on an annual plan.

Does Ramp integrate with ADP?

Yes, with ADP Workforce Now and TotalSource. The marketplace lists the Ramp connector as read-only: it pulls title, department and location from ADP on a schedule to issue cards, set limits and run single sign-on. It does not write reimbursements into ADP payroll, so Ramp repays out-of-pocket expenses on its own.

Are expense reimbursements through ADP payroll taxable?

Not when they are paid under an accountable plan: a business purpose, receipts within a reasonable time and any excess returned. Those reimbursements are not wages, even though they ride on the paycheck under their own earning code. If that code is set up as taxable by mistake, the employee is taxed on money that was never income, so check it once. The IRS paperwork side is in our IRS receipt requirements guide.

What is the best expense management software for ADP?

If repayment must land on the ADP paycheck, pick a write connector: SAP Concur for larger or travel-heavy companies, TripLog or Compt for mileage-heavy teams. If you want company cards and do not mind a separate transfer for reimbursements, Ramp and Expensify are the lower-cost picks. Match the listing to your ADP product before anything else. The wider field is on our expense reimbursement software comparison.

Can SpendNotify replace an ADP expense app?

No. SpendNotify does not reimburse employees, run payroll or connect to ADP. It reads the charges from the cards and bank accounts you already use and alerts the budget owner when a department budget is on pace to overshoot, a subscription renews at a higher price or a new recurring charge appears. It sits next to whichever expense app you choose.

Keep reading

Related pages

Pick the ADP connector that pays people the way you want. Know the day a department is on pace to overshoot, whichever one you buy.

Run the demo