Skip to content

Match the expense tool to the missing workflow

Justworks Expense Management and Justworks Expense Reimbursement with Ramp, Brex and Expensify

An included reimbursement tool can cover receipts and approvals while leaving your next buying decision open. For a US controller or operations lead, the question is which work stays in Justworks and which needs another system. Compare employee sync, card requirements and budget visibility before adding a subscription.

Try the demo

SpendNotify adds budget alerts on existing cards and bank accounts alongside your expense tool.

Short answer

Does Justworks have expense management?

Yes, Justworks Expenses is an in-house reimbursement tool included with PEO Basic and PEO Plus at no additional cost, with receipt capture, approval workflows and custom rules. The launch sources describe a PEO feature and mention no corporate cards or accounting software sync, while a later update extends Expenses to EOR employees. Ramp and Brex document employee data integrations, but neither help article describes reimbursements flowing back into Justworks payroll.

Compare the documented connection

What connects to Justworks and what moves

Justworks launched Brex and Ramp integrations for PEO customers in September 2024 and Payroll customers in January 2025, powered by Merge and Finch. The documented connections maintain employee information. Buying an integration does not establish a payment route or an accounting connection.

Swipe the table sideways to compare all columns.

Expense option Documented Justworks scope Payroll reimbursement return Published price basis
Justworks Expenses In-house PEO reimbursement requests, receipt photos, approval workflows and custom rules. Later extended to EOR employees Native requests alongside payroll. An outside-tool return is a separate question Included with PEO Basic and PEO Plus at no additional cost
Ramp Justworks to Ramp every 24 hours. Accounts created and removed as people join and leave Not stated in the sources Base $0, subject to the card-spend assumption below
Brex Daily employee data sync, provisioning and de-provisioning. Auto-invite can issue cards Not stated in the sources Essentials $0, subject to the card-spend assumption below
Expensify Mentioned in a Justworks blog about integrations and special offers. No first-party sync found Not stated in the sources Collect $5 per member monthly

Sources: the Justworks integrations update, Ramp and Brex help articles, and Justworks launch coverage. Comparator rates follow the BambooHR comparison.

Ramp follows the Justworks employee record

Justworks is the source of truth. With automatic updates enabled, Ramp updates location, department and manager relationships. Ask the administrator to demonstrate a manager change and a departure, then identify what happens before the next scheduled sync. The documented 24-hour cadence should inform your process for urgent employee changes.

Brex setup includes a card decision

Setup is on the Brex Team page. Sent fields include title, manager ID, department, location and legal entity. Because auto-invite can issue cards, review that setting with the person responsible for card access. Ask how daily sync and outstanding reimbursement requests interact, since the help article does not describe a payroll return.

Treat the integration demonstration as a handoff between systems. Start with an employee whose department and manager are recorded in Justworks, then inspect the destination record. Ask which changes the integration applies automatically and which settings an administrator controls. If the team needs an urgent access change, ask for the procedure between scheduled syncs. Neither a daily schedule nor a successful import alone answers that operational question.

For Expensify, separate commercial availability from technical scope. A discount or special offer does not identify the data direction, update schedule or departure behavior. Public sources do not establish those details for a Justworks to Expensify connector. Request them in writing, together with the provider responsible for support. If the proposal includes accounting sync, demonstrate that separately using the accounting system your team actually closes each month.

Understand the included tool

What Justworks Expenses does and does not establish

Reimbursement inside the PEO workflow

CPA Practice Advisor's August 7, 2023 coverage reports availability from July 24, 2023. Employees submit reimbursement requests alongside payroll, and administrators set approval workflows and custom rules. Employees can create expenses by photographing receipts in the Justworks mobile app. Expenses can be categorized and analyzed alongside payroll data.

At launch, access was limited to W-2 employees on the Justworks PEO. The coverage includes Expenses with both PEO Basic and PEO Plus at no additional cost. It does not establish access for standalone Payroll-plan customers. Confirm eligibility against your actual Justworks plan before assuming the included workflow is available to your employees.

Cards and accounting need separate evidence

The launch coverage mentions no corporate cards or accounting software sync. A department budget alert feature is not stated in the sources. Categorizing expenses alongside payroll data does not establish automatic posting to your accounting system. Ask for the actual destination, fields and reconciliation process if accounting sync is a purchase requirement.

Likewise, a Justworks blog mention of Expensify does not document a first-party connector. Ask the seller to show the proposed connection and who maintains it. Our expense reimbursement software comparison helps organize the submission, approval and payment questions without assuming an employee directory connection handles all three.

EOR coverage follows a later product update

Justworks' August 18, 2026 update extends Expenses to Employer of Record employees. Employees submit supporting documents, managers can optionally review, and administrators approve and schedule payment. The location is Payments > Expenses, with country-specific categories and required fields. EOR pricing and identical availability across PEO, EOR and standalone Payroll are not stated in the public sources. Treat each employee population separately when checking coverage.

For a company using more than one employment arrangement, build the review around the employee submitting the request. Ask where that person uploads a receipt, which categories appear, whether manager review applies and who schedules payment. The EOR update explicitly describes country-specific fields, so a demonstration for one population should not substitute for checking another. Keep a sample approved request and its payment evidence together during evaluation. The ability to analyze expenses alongside payroll data does not answer every question about payment execution or accounting.

Budget for the actual plan

Illustrative Justworks costs at 50 people

PEO rates need confirmation

PEO Basic and PEO Plus per-employee rates are not confirmed. 2026 third-party roundups list Basic between $59 and $79 and Plus between $109 and $124 per employee per month, and the Justworks pricing page did not load for our check. Confirm your rate on Justworks' pricing page.

Illustration only, 50 × $59 = $2,950 to 50 × $79 = $3,950 a month for Basic, or $35,400 to $47,400 yearly. The Plus range gives 50 × $109 = $5,450 to 50 × $124 = $6,200 monthly. Included PEO Expenses adds no separate software charge to either plan.

Payroll and expense billing use different bases

Consistent 2026 third-party reviews list Payroll at $8 per employee monthly plus a $50 monthly base fee. For 50 people, 50 × $8 + $50 = $450 monthly, or $5,400 yearly. The launch sources describe Expenses as a PEO feature, so do not attach the included tool to this Payroll calculation.

For the add-on illustration, assume 30 monthly filers among 50 staff, each submitting one report per month. Apply member pricing to those 30 people, active-user pricing to those 30 active users and report pricing to their monthly reports. Ask whether administrators or other employees increase the paid member count.

Swipe the table sideways to compare all columns.

Expense option Expense rate and calculation Annual expense software Illustrative annual total with PEO Basic
Included Justworks Expenses No additional cost on PEO Basic or PEO Plus $0 additional $35,400 to $47,400
Expensify Collect $5 per member monthly × 30 × 12 $1,800 $37,200 to $49,200
SAP Concur Base From $7 per report × 30 × 12 From $2,520 From $37,920 to $49,920
Fyle Growth $11.99 per active user monthly × 30 × 12, billed yearly About $4,316 About $39,716 to $51,716
Ramp base $0 software if card spend moves to Ramp $0 $35,400 to $47,400
Brex Essentials $0 software if card spend moves to Brex $0 $35,400 to $47,400

Comparator rates verified October 20, 2026. Totals cover the stated software scenario, exclude optional services and do not confirm connectors. Fyle totals are rounded. PEO ranges are illustrations, not Justworks quotes.

These are entry-rate comparisons. The $0 card-platform rows assume card spend moves to that platform and do not establish a payroll reimbursement connection. Review Ramp's plan pricing, Brex's plan pricing and Expensify's member pricing against the workflow in your proposal. Included reimbursement may already cover the work you need.

The distinction between 50 employees and 30 submitters matters. Justworks' per-employee baseline applies to the modeled workforce, while each outside expense vendor uses its own billing unit. Do not multiply every rate by the same headcount without checking that unit. Ask whether a quiet month reduces the expense subscription, whether annual billing changes the commitment and which optional services remain outside the entry rate. Keep those answers beside the quote so the purchasing team can compare the same scope rather than treating this illustration as a complete operating budget.

Turn requirements into a buying decision

How to choose expense software for Justworks

Confirm the employee population

Establish whether the company uses PEO Basic, PEO Plus, Payroll or EOR before requesting demos. If the included PEO reimbursement workflow meets the requirement, demonstrate it with a receipt and your approval rules. For other populations, request explicit eligibility and payment details rather than extending the launch promise to a different plan.

Name the missing capability

Write down whether the purchase addresses cards, budget alerts, accounting sync or reimbursement processing. Evaluate Ramp and Brex employee connections if a card platform is on the shortlist. If Expensify is proposed, require evidence of the specific connection. A special offer does not establish the workflow your finance team needs.

Follow a request through payment

Ask where the employee submits, who approves and which system records payment. For an outside tool, ask explicitly whether anything returns to Justworks payroll. Then test a manager change and departure. Record manual steps and ownership, including any accounting transfer that the published connector documentation does not establish.

Price the demonstrated workflow

Request a quote using your employee count, paid members and expected reports. Identify any requirement to move card spending before using a $0 software assumption. Confirm the PEO rate directly and add only the tools that address a demonstrated gap. Assign an owner for reviewing daily employee sync and exceptions after setup.

Agree on acceptance criteria before signing. Finance should be able to identify the employee, approver, supporting receipt and payment status for a representative request. The administrator should be able to explain a missing employee update and the correction process. Ask the vendor to identify any step that depends on another provider or manual file transfer.

If budget visibility is the unresolved requirement, ask the budget owner what decision an alert should prompt. Reimbursement review concerns an employee request, while existing card and bank charges raise a separate spending question. Choose the tool around the record it actually reads and the action your team needs to take, then name who reviews exceptions.

Where SpendNotify fits

Give budget owners visibility into existing spending

SpendNotify reads existing card and bank charges and alerts budget owners in real time when spend runs ahead of budget or a new recurring merchant appears. Use it alongside your chosen reimbursement process when the missing capability is a timely budget conversation.

Try the demo

Keep reimbursement and budget responsibilities clear

SpendNotify does not pay reimbursements, issue cards or run payroll. It has no Justworks connector and no affiliation with Justworks. Keep submission, approval and repayment in the expense process you select. The employee data integrations described above do not create a SpendNotify connection.

Plans start at $199 a month, or $99 a month billed yearly. Review SpendNotify pricing and the budget alert workflow to decide whether existing-charge visibility addresses your team's remaining gap.

Questions buyers ask

Justworks expense management questions answered

Does Justworks have expense management?

Yes. Justworks Expenses is an in-house reimbursement tool included with PEO Basic and PEO Plus at no additional cost. Employees submit requests and photograph receipts in the mobile app. The launch coverage describes approval workflows and custom rules, but no corporate cards, budget alerts or accounting software sync.

Does Justworks do expense reimbursement?

Yes. Justworks Expenses supports reimbursement requests for PEO employees, with approvals and custom rules. Justworks also extended Expenses to EOR employees in August 2026, with supporting documents, optional manager review and administrator approval and payment scheduling. The launch sources describe the included tool as a PEO feature, not a Payroll-plan benefit.

How much does Justworks cost per employee?

Payroll costs $8 per employee monthly plus a $50 monthly base fee. PEO rates are unconfirmed. Third-party 2026 roundups list Basic between $59 and $79 and Plus between $109 and $124 per employee monthly. The Justworks pricing page did not load for our check, so confirm current PEO pricing directly with Justworks.

Does Ramp integrate with Justworks?

Yes. The Ramp integration became available to PEO customers in September 2024 and Payroll customers in January 2025. Justworks is the source of truth, with data syncing to Ramp every 24 hours. Automatic updates can maintain location, department and manager relationships. The help article does not describe reimbursement write-back into Justworks payroll.

Does Brex integrate with Justworks?

Yes. Brex documents daily employee data sync, provisioning and de-provisioning through its Justworks integration. Setup is on the Brex Team page, and auto-invite can issue cards. Shared fields include title, manager ID, department, location and legal entity. The help article does not describe reimbursements flowing back into Justworks payroll.

Does Expensify integrate with Justworks?

A first-party Justworks to Expensify sync was not found in public sources. Justworks mentions Expensify alongside Brex and Ramp in a blog about integrations and special offers. That mention does not establish a connector. Ask for a demonstration of employee updates, departures and reimbursement handling before relying on any proposed connection.

What is the best expense management software for Justworks?

The best choice depends on the missing workflow. Keep included Justworks Expenses for PEO reimbursement needs it covers. Evaluate Ramp or Brex for documented employee sync and a separate card platform. If existing card and bank spend needs budget alerts, evaluate SpendNotify alongside the expense process. Confirm accounting sync separately with each vendor.

Keep the expense process and see budget risk sooner

Use SpendNotify alongside your reimbursement workflow to alert budget owners on the cards and bank accounts you already use.

Try the demo