Skip to content

Verified on emburse.com today

Emburse pricing and what Emburse Spend, Emburse Certify and Chrome River actually cost

Emburse sells five expense products under three names, and publishes a price for exactly one of them. The two everybody searches for by name were renamed and are quote only. Here is the whole map, the one real rate card, and what changed on it this year.

No sales call. Plans are flat per month, not per user.

Try it on your own numbers

See which charges would have paged someone

Set a budget, pick your thresholds, and replay a month of card spend through the alert engine. It runs in your browser, nothing is uploaded, and there is no seat minimum to clear first.

Short answer

How much does Emburse cost?

Emburse publishes one rate card, and it covers only Emburse Spend: $8 per user per month on Basic, $12 on Plus, and a third Custom tier priced through sales. The rate card no longer states a seat minimum or a headcount ceiling. The annual plan, per the Emburse Spend help center, is $7 and $11 with a minimum of 20 active users. Emburse Certify is now Emburse Professional and Chrome River is now Emburse Enterprise, and neither carries a published price. Guided Implementation is an optional add-on with no listed price. Emburse Cards has no fees and pays a 1 percent rebate at qualifying volume. Every figure here was checked against the live emburse.com rate card, where emburse.com/pricing itself returns a 404.

Start here or you will price the wrong product

The product you are searching for was renamed

Emburse acquired Certify and Chrome River, ran them as brands for years, then folded both into a single naming scheme. The old names still carry almost all of the search demand, which is why pricing pages for them are so hard to find: they do not exist under those names any more.

Certify is now Professional

Emburse says it in the page title itself: "Emburse Certify is now Emburse Professional". The old Certify URL forwards to Emburse Professional expense, travel and invoice. Mid market positioning, sold through a demo request, no rate card anywhere on the site.

Chrome River is now Enterprise

Same pattern, same wording: "Chrome River is now Emburse Enterprise". Enterprise is the heavily configurable tier that large finance teams run, and it is quoted rather than listed. Any Chrome River price you find online is somebody else's negotiated deal.

Spend is the only one with a price

Emburse Spend is the self serve product for growing businesses in the United States and Australia, and it is the only Emburse product with a public rate card. If you came here looking for Certify pricing, Spend is the closest thing to an answer, but it is not the same product.

Practical consequence: when a reseller or a review site quotes you "Certify pricing", ask which of Professional, Enterprise or Spend the number refers to. Those three are sold in three different ways and only one of them has a number Emburse will stand behind in public.

The one published rate card

Emburse Spend pricing plans in 2026

Two plans carry a price and a third is quoted. Receipt capture, policies and approvals are on every tier. The split is mostly accounting integrations, reimbursement volume, multi entity support and, on Custom, AI compliance checks and analytics.

Swipe the table sideways to compare all columns.

What you get Basic, $8 per user per month Plus, $12 per user per month Custom, speak to sales
Who it is for Essential expense management for growing teams Everything in Basic, plus expanded controls and more integrations More complex needs, including travel management
Accounting integrations QuickBooks Online, QuickBooks Desktop, Xero, customizable export templates Adds NetSuite, Sage Intacct and automated exports via SFTP Adds premium ERP connectors for NetSuite and Sage Intacct
ACH reimbursements Up to 50. The rate card does not say per what period Unlimited, plus ACH multi entity support Unlimited, plus ACH multi entity support
Cards Connect existing business cards and Emburse Cards, real time alerts, virtual card issuance Same, plus manager card issuing with customizable limits Same as Plus
Controls and security Customizable policies and approval workflows, role based policies, SAML SSO, two factor Adds role based visibility rules Adds AI powered compliance and audit
Analytics Administrator dashboard and spend insights Same as Basic Adds advanced spend analytics
Other integrations Automatic receipts from Uber and Amazon Business Adds Slack, Salesforce and API access Same as Plus
How you buy it 30 day free trial for very small organizations, eligibility checked by form Through sales Through sales
Published minimum None on the rate card. Annual plan at $7 needs at least 20 active users None on the rate card. Annual plan at $11 needs at least 20 active users Quoted per deal

Two line items sit outside the per user rate. Self-guided implementation, an in-product setup wizard plus weekly live webinars, carries no setup fee. Guided Implementation with a dedicated specialist is an optional add-on with no price on the rate card. Emburse Cards carries no fees and pays a 1 percent cash rebate once qualifying spend volumes are met. The annual rates come from the Emburse Spend help center, not the pricing page.

The rate card moved

What changed on the Emburse Spend rate card in 2026

Emburse rewrote its Spend pricing page after late August. The per user prices held, but several of the terms around them did not. If you priced Emburse Spend from an older review, a cached search snippet or a screenshot, check it against this list.

Swipe the table sideways to compare all columns.

Term Earlier version of the page Current version of the page
Seat minimum Fewer than 15 users billed as 15 No minimum stated
Company size Both plans for teams of up to 100 employees No ceiling stated. Very small organizations trial, larger ones go to sales
Tiers Basic and Plus Basic, Plus and a new Custom tier through sales
Where it is sold United States only United States and Australia, in English
ACH reimbursements on Basic 50 per month Up to 50, no period stated
Guided Implementation $1,500 one time Optional add-on, no price listed
Slack integration Included on Basic Plus and Custom only

The minimum moved to the annual plan

The monthly rate card no longer bills a small team for seats nobody uses. The Emburse Spend help center does still publish a floor, on the annual subscription: 12 months, at least 20 active users, at $7 on Basic or $11 on Plus. Users above your committed band are billed at the standard $8 or $12 and invoiced monthly. On Basic, 20 seats at $7 is $140 a month, so a team with 17 or fewer submitters pays less staying monthly at $8.

Custom is where the newer features went

AI powered compliance and audit, advanced spend analytics, premium NetSuite and Sage Intacct connectors and travel management sit only on Custom, which has no published price. If any of those four is on your requirements list, the $12 Plus rate is not your number, and you should expect a sales conversation.

Fifty ACH reimbursements on Basic

Basic caps ACH reimbursements at up to 50, and the rate card does not say whether that is per month, per year or something else. A team that reimburses out of pocket spend often can reach it quickly. Ask how the cap is counted before you choose Basic over Plus.

Get any minimum or ceiling in writing

A term that disappeared from a public page can still appear in a contract. Before you sign, ask Emburse to put on the order form whether any seat minimum applies, whether a headcount limit applies to your plan, how the Basic reimbursement cap is counted, and what Guided Implementation costs if you want it.

The meter, and it is genuinely unusual

Emburse Spend does not bill your approvers

Emburse defines an active user as anyone who submits an expense in a given month, and states that approvers are not counted unless they also submit that month. That is the single most consequential line on the pricing page, and no feature grid will show it to you.

Why it matters against Expensify

Expensify defines an active member as anyone creating, editing, submitting, approving or exporting expense data, or chatting with Concierge. Approving alone makes a person billable. Expensify Collect goes further and bills every unique member of the workspace at $5 whether or not they touch anything. So the same 40 person company can be metered on 40 heads at Expensify and on 12 at Emburse.

The break-even, worked

Call S the number of people who submit expenses and A the number who only approve or review. On the monthly rate, Emburse Spend Basic costs 8S and Expensify Collect costs 5(S + A). Emburse wins when 8S is less than 5S plus 5A, which simplifies to A greater than 0.6 times S. In plain terms: once your approve-only staff pass about 60 percent of your submitter count, Emburse Spend Basic is the cheaper meter.

Three companies, same product, different winner

Take 20 people who submit expenses in all three cases, and vary only the approval chain. With 5 approve-only managers, Emburse Spend Basic is $160 and Expensify Collect is $125, so Expensify is cheaper. With 12, both are $160 and it is a coin toss on features. With 20, a company where every submitter has a reviewer, Emburse is $160 and Expensify is $200. Nothing about the software changed. Only the org chart did, and it moved the bill by 25 percent.

The annual plan shifts the line. At $7 on Basic, Emburse wins once A passes 0.4 times S, so the 20 submitter company with 12 approvers pays $140 a month against $160 at Expensify Collect. The catch is the 20 active user minimum on that plan. A small team with a flat structure is the worst fit for this rate card, and a mid sized team with a deep approval hierarchy is the best.

Who can buy it now

Who Emburse Spend is sold to, and how you leave

The old headcount line is gone, but eligibility still matters. Size decides whether you get a self serve trial or a sales call, and the country you are based in decides whether you can buy Spend at all.

Size routes you, it no longer caps you

The 30 day free trial is offered to very small organizations, confirmed through an eligibility form. Emburse does not define very small in public. Organizations above that size are connected with sales, who walk through plans, pricing, integrations and implementation. The page no longer says the plans stop at any number of employees.

United States and Australia

Emburse states that Spend is available in English for companies based in the United States and Australia, where it used to say United States only. The help center notes that pricing and billing concepts carry over to other regions in local currency. A company based elsewhere still needs Emburse Professional or Enterprise.

Cancellation and renewal

Per the Emburse Spend help center, if you cancel you keep access until the end of the current billing period. Annual plans send renewal reminders from 90 days out, auto-renew and auto-pay 30 days before expiration, and can be cancelled or changed by an administrator up to 60 days before renewal. Put that 60 day date in your calendar.

Against the rest of the category

Where each vendor's published price starts and stops applying

Every comparison table in this category lists rates. Almost none lists the floor below which the rate is not achievable and the ceiling above which it no longer applies. Those two boundaries decide more deals than the rate does. Where a vendor publishes nothing, this table says so instead of estimating.

Swipe the table sideways to compare all columns.

Product Published US rate What the meter counts Floor and ceiling
Emburse Spend Basic $8 per user per month Anyone who submits an expense. Approvers excluded unless they also submit No minimum or headcount ceiling on the rate card. Annual plan needs at least 20 active users. United States and Australia
Emburse Spend Plus $12 per user per month Same submitter based meter Same terms as Basic. Adds ACH multi entity support
Emburse Spend Custom Not published. Speak to sales Not disclosed. Quoted per deal No published boundary
Emburse Professional, formerly Certify Not published Not disclosed. Quoted per deal No published boundary. Demo request only
Emburse Enterprise, formerly Chrome River Not published Not disclosed. Quoted per deal No published boundary. Demo request only
Expensify Collect $5 per member per month, pay per use only Every unique member of the workspace, active or not No floor, no ceiling. Legacy rates apply if your first workspace predates 1 April 2025
Expensify Control $18 annual per committed seat, or $36 per active member pay per use Active members, defined to include approving and exporting Annual subscription size ratchets up, never down until renewal
Zoho Expense Standard $4 monthly, $3 billed annually, per user Named users, approvers included Free tier hard capped at 3 users and no card feed. No upper ceiling
Ramp Plus $15 per user per month plus an unpublished platform fee Every user on the plan Free tier requires passing card underwriting. Platform fee scales with team size
Brex Premium $12 per user per month Every user Essentials is free. Card eligibility is an underwriting decision
Navan Expense $15 per user per month after the first 5 Monthly expensing users, not headcount First 5 users free. Above roughly 300 employees it is demo only
SAP Concur Base from $7 and Plus from $11 per expense report. Premium quoted Expense reports, with unlimited users. Negotiated contracts can still meter per user No published minimum. Price can vary with monthly commitment

Emburse figures re-verified on emburse.com and the Emburse Spend help center on 12 October 2026. Expensify and Zoho verified 29 August 2026. Ramp, Brex, Navan and Concur as separately dated on their own pages here. Nothing in this table is an estimate: where a number is not public, the cell says so.

Where we fit, and where we do not

Emburse Spend vs SpendNotify

These are not competing products and this table is not pretending otherwise. Emburse Spend is a full expense management system: cards, receipts, approvals, reimbursements, accounting export. SpendNotify watches the spend you already have and tells you when it crosses a line.

Swipe the table sideways to compare all columns.

Emburse Spend SpendNotify
Core job Capture, approve, reimburse and export expenses Monitor budgets and alert when spend crosses a threshold
Cards Issues its own physical and virtual cards, no card fees Issues nothing. Works on the cards and accounts you already run
Seat minimum None on the monthly rate card. Annual plan needs at least 20 active users None
Headcount ceiling None published. Larger organizations are routed to sales None
Replacing your system of record Yes, that is the point No. It sits alongside whatever you already use
Status Generally available Flat plans, not per user

If you are shopping for a system of record, buy one of the platforms above. If your problem is that you found out about the overspend at month end, that is a different problem and a different tool.

Questions

Emburse pricing, answered

How much does Emburse Certify cost?

Emburse does not publish a price for Certify. Certify was renamed Emburse Professional, and every route to it on emburse.com ends at a demo request rather than a rate card. The only Emburse product with a published price is Emburse Spend, at $8 per user per month on Basic and $12 on Plus, and Spend is a different product aimed at growing businesses in the United States and Australia.

Is Emburse Certify the same as Emburse Professional?

Yes. Emburse states it directly: the page at emburse.com/products/certify is titled "Emburse Certify is now Emburse Professional" and forwards to the Emburse Professional expense, travel and invoice products. If a quote you have been sent says Professional and your team still says Certify, those are the same lineage, not two products you need to choose between.

What happened to Chrome River?

Chrome River is now Emburse Enterprise. Emburse says so on its own Chrome River page, which carries the title "Chrome River is now Emburse Enterprise". Enterprise is the larger, more configurable tier and, like Professional, carries no published price. Searches for Chrome River pricing therefore have no rate card to land on, which is why third party estimates vary so widely.

How much does Emburse Spend cost?

Emburse Spend Basic is $8 per user per month and Plus is $12. A third tier, Custom, is priced through sales. The Emburse Spend help center lists annual rates of $7 on Basic and $11 on Plus, with a minimum of 20 active users on the annual plan. Very small organizations can apply for a 30 day free trial. Self-guided implementation carries no setup fee, and Guided Implementation is an optional add-on with no published price.

What counts as a user on Emburse Spend?

Emburse defines a user as anyone who submits an expense. Approvers are not counted unless they also submit. That is unusual. Expensify counts an active member as anyone creating, editing, submitting, approving or exporting expense data, so approving alone makes someone billable there. In a company with a deep approval chain the same headcount produces two very different bills.

Is there a minimum number of users for Emburse Spend?

Not on the monthly rate card as it currently reads. The Spend pricing page used to bill organizations with fewer than 15 users for 15, and it no longer states any minimum or any headcount ceiling. The one minimum Emburse still publishes is on the annual subscription: the Emburse Spend help center says it covers 12 months with a minimum of 20 active users. If you sign, have any minimum written into the order form.

Does Emburse Spend work outside the United States?

In one more country than before. Emburse states that Spend is available in English for companies based in the United States and Australia. The help center says pricing concepts carry over to other regions in local currency. Companies based anywhere else, or that need another language, have to look at Emburse Professional or Enterprise instead.

Are there setup or onboarding fees for Emburse Spend?

Not for self-guided setup. Emburse Spend includes an in-product setup wizard and weekly live implementation webinars at no extra charge. Guided Implementation, where an Implementation Specialist configures the account with your administrator and trains your team, is an optional add-on you can buy at any time. The pricing page lists no price for it, so ask for a quote.

How does Emburse Spend billing actually work?

On the monthly plan you pay the plan rate for each active user, meaning each person who submits an expense that month. On the annual plan, per the Emburse Spend help center, you commit to 12 months and at least 20 active users at $7 or $11, users above your committed band are billed at the standard $8 or $12, and that overage is invoiced monthly. Annual plans auto-renew and auto-pay 30 days before expiration, and administrators can cancel or change the plan up to 60 days before renewal.

Is Emburse cheaper than Expensify?

It depends on how many people approve without submitting. Emburse Spend Basic bills only submitters at $8, while Expensify Collect bills every member of the workspace at $5. Emburse comes out cheaper once approve-only staff exceed about 60 percent of your submitter count. On the annual Basic rate of $7 that threshold falls to 40 percent, but the annual plan needs at least 20 active users. Below the threshold, Expensify Collect is cheaper. Our Expensify pricing breakdown runs the Control tier arithmetic in full.

Do Emburse Cards cost anything?

No. Emburse Cards carries no fees and issues physical or virtual prepaid cards with granular, self enforcing spending rules, plus a 1 percent cash rebate once qualifying spend volumes are met. That rebate is smaller than the headline rates Ramp and Brex advertise, but Emburse also does not require you to move your card program to get the software.

Keep reading

Related pages

Know about the overspend before the month closes

No seat minimum, no headcount ceiling, no card application. Set budgets on the cards and accounts you already run and get alerted the moment spend crosses a line.

Run the demo